Header Image

Tinahely Christmas Lights


It is time to start planning for the 2022/23 season. We have lots of great ideas for fundraisers this year, and we can assure you that, not withstanding the success of last seasons event, we have learned a few things that we will adjust for next year, so that our children and families can have a truly memorable experience of the festive season in Tinahely again this year.
We look forward to your continued support, and again, I want to thank you most sincerely for everything you have done so far.

A huge thank you to everyone for your help and support (financial and otherwise) which played a huge part in creating what is widely accepted as being a tremendously successful Christmas illuminations experience in 2018/19.
Our aim was to stick with the traditional model and try to improve it. We started by re-wiring the entire electrical infrastructure, which could only happen because of the generous community support of our fundraisers and the work of local volunteers. We arranged for a new crib, materials were donated by a local hardware, and the skill and dedication of local trades men created a finished product of exceptional quality and durability.
Our Schools came together (as usual) to perform for the ‘switching on’ event, but this year the choir included members of a range of local community groups. Santa visits were free, and his work was supported by our local variety group (and fire brigade) in an amazing grotto facility created by the variety group, in our local Courthouse Arts Centre. Refreshments were provided by local volunteers. We even had snow to add to the atmosphere with thanks to the donation of a local events organizer.
You will have noticed that we changed the lights this year from traditional coloured bulbs to modern white LED’s. We also invested in the illumination of a large tree at Lugduff. This marks the beginning of what we expect to be an ongoing strategic investment in the lighting infrastructure in the coming years (though of course this will be dependent to a large extent on the continuation of community support).


Chairperson: Anthony Murphy

Committee members: Anthony Murphy, Orlaith Kavanagh, Nicky Murphy, Siofra Gallagher, Tony Darcy, Patrick Murphy, John Byrne, Rebecca Kelly, Damien Murphy, Baron McDonald and Kevin Darcy.




By continuing to use the site, you agree to the use of cookies. more information

The cookie settings on this website are set to "allow cookies" to give you the best browsing experience possible. If you continue to use this website without changing your cookie settings or you click "Accept" below then you are consenting to this.